Architecture (Palladian and Federal), silver, Baltimore furniture, American history. A National Historic Landmark, Johns Hopkins University’s Homewood Museum offers visitors the change to explore diverse interests in tremendous depth and provides an intimate look at life in early-19th century Baltimore. Built in 1801 by Charles Carroll Jr., Homewood is renowned for its elegant interior spaces and brightly colored rooms that are filled with objects associated with the Carroll family and others representative of the period, including superb examples of Baltimore furniture and highlights from local museum collections.
Homewood was offered as a wedding gift in 1800 by Charles Carroll of Carrollton, a signer of the Declaration of Independence, to his son Charles Carroll Jr. It occupied 140 acres acres in northern Baltimore. Carroll purchased the parcel in 1794. Charles Carroll Jr. began construction on a stately and modern country home of his own design in 1801 and had mostly finished by 1808. It cost $40,000, four times the budgeted expense. For reasons both personal and political, “Homewood” led to a severe breach in relations between father and son. Ultimately, Carroll Senior bought the house from his son in 1824 and managed the “most improvident waste” until his son’s death the next year. The house then passed to Charles Carroll III, who lived there until he inherited the family estate, Doughoregan Manor, from his grandfather. The house was the birthplace of John Lee Carroll in 1830, second son of Charles III, who would become Governor of Maryland. In 1839, Charles Carroll III sold Homewood to Samuel Wyman, a Baltimore merchant, who lived there with his family until 1865. During the Wyman family’s tenure, Wyman’s son William commissioned Richard Upjohn to build an Italianate mansion on the grounds, named “Homewood Villa.” The Villa was demolished by Johns Hopkins University in 1954. On Samuel Wyman’s death the property was divided between his sons. In 1897, Homewood became the first Gilman School, known at its founding as The Country School for Boys. In 1902 the property was reassembled and given to Johns Hopkins University.In 1916 the mansion became the University Faculty Club. In 1936, Homewood was converted to administrative offices. Homewood Museum opened to the public in 1987after extensive restoration, and its Federal style architecture, with its red brick and white marble, serves as the inspiration for the campus’ design.
Open by guided tour only, offered on the hour and half-hour from 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Friday and 12 to 4 p.m. Saturday and Sunday. Last tour departs at 3:30 p.m.
Every effort is made to accommodate visitors with special needs. Because of the historic period and age of Homewood Museum, access may require assistance as stairs must be negotiated in order to tour the house. To make the most of your visit, we welcome and encourage any people with disabilities to contact us prior to your visit so that we may better accommodate you. For more information, call 410.516.5589 during regular business hours.
Maryland Transit Administration (MTA) bus routes 3, 11, and 27 (local, $1.60) stop within four blocks of Homewood Museum, as does the Baltimore Collegetown Shuttle and the Johns Hopkins Shuttle.
Visitors to Homewood Museum may pay to park in JHU visitor lots, or use city-metered street parking.